Some Girls: My Life in a Harem

On a recent trip to Oregon (Tourist in a familiar place), my mom mentioned that she was reading a book which she couldn’t put down. Mom and I are quite alike in our reading tastes (though she did finish Anna Karenina and I threw it away) and so I picked up the book to read the back.

[he] “told her that a rich businessman in Singapore would pay pretty American girls $20,000 if they stayed for two weeks to spice up his parties. Soon, Jillian was on a plane … where she would spend the next eighteen months in the harem of Prince Jefri Bolkiah, … leaving behind her … apartment for a palace with rugs laced with gold and trading her band of … friends for a coterie of backstabbing beauties.”

Once I picked up Lauren’s book, I could not put it down. Reading the tale of a struggling young woman who makes the choice to “spice up” parties thrown by the Sultan and Prince of Brunei. She leaves her New York apartment and joins a gang of women in her similar boat — others looking for possible fame, fortune, and prestige.

Jillian Lauren writes candidly of her experiences as a harem girl; from sex with the Prince to shopping with unlimited amounts of money. Some Girls: My Life in a Harem is a fast read that opens your eyes to the process of becoming a harem-girl. The good, the bad, the ugly, and the insanity is documented with detail and grace. I absolutely recommend this book.

2 thoughts on “Some Girls: My Life in a Harem

Start a Conversation

