A BzzAgent Review: COVERGIRL LashBlast Mascara

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 10.02.01 AM

COVERGIRL LashBlast VOLUME Mascara

 

I received a free full-size tube of COVERGIRL LastBlast Volume Mascara from BzzAgent in exchange for an honest review of the product. The thoughts and opinions shared are mine.

I have five beauty staples in my life; toothpaste, deodorant, sunscreen, mascara, and chapstick. I subscribe to both an ipsy bag and a BirchBox each month, and when there’s mascara in either collection, I’m stoked. It was natural for me to be excited to work with BzzAgent in reviewing a new mascara.

A longtime COVERGIRL user, I keep a tube of COVERGIRL LashBlast FUSION Mascara (in Very Black) in my makeup kit as my travel tube, so adding the VOLUME mascara to my makeup repertoire is a positive addition.

COVERGIRL LashBlast VOLUME Mascara in very black

First, two small complaints to get out of the way:

  1. tube size – the size of this tube of mascara is fatter around than most (though it seems to be a COVERGIRL LashBlast Mascara size) and so it doesn’t fit in the little drawers of my makeup case.
  2. excess waste pieces – it used to be that when you bought a tube of mascara, you received the tube and a wand … put together there were two pieces and you needed them both to use the mascara. Nowadays, there are three pieces of plastic in the mascara package. The mascara is now sealed with a waste of a lid and you have to insert the wand yourself, then throw away the lid. (Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 10.45.33 AMI Googled to see why mascara is now capped, but all I learned was that people are worried mascara is made of bat poop. The answer is no.)

Now, the multiple positives!

One of the first things I noticed taking the wand out of the mascara tube is that the wand size is good in my hands. The tube doesn’t fit in my makeup case, but it does fit well and feel comfortable in both my right and left hands.

The wand was completely covered in mascara after one insertion and a quick spin around; the entire wand was thoroughly coated even on my first application.

Then I brought the wand to my eye; I burst out laughing. The wand itself fits my hand well, but the brush attached is HUGE! This is great for women with large eyes and already long lashes, but for my small eyes and short lashes, I was immediately nervous. Then I stuck myself in the eye. It will take some getting used to, but the huge wand head is a new feature for me.

COVERGIRL LashBlast VOLUME Mascara is a quite wet formula when you initially open the tube. The mascara coated my lashes in one sweep and I immediately noticed that the volume of my lashes was increased. My lashes were immediately thicker and darker, standing out even through my glasses.

I applied a second coat shortly after my first and this is where I noticed the wand’s brush size getting in the way. Because my eyelashes were longer and thicker after the first application, adding more thickness and length meant that when I looked up to apply on the corners, my damp mascara’d lashes smudged against my eyelid. It was easy enough to clean off, but if the wand were smaller (or I were more used to it), it would have been easier. I did notice that the ginormous wand grabbed and coated each and every lash near it which made putting on mascara quick.

My eyelashes are thicker and are longer after using COVERGIRL LashBlast VOLUME Mascara. Boasting “10X the volume” might be blowing smoke in our eyes, but I do agree that the VOLUME LashBlast from COVERGIRL does increase volume of the eyelashes.

In a couple of weeks, I’ll give this mascara another run and another review to see if it’s a) easier to handle the wand and b) worth attempting the lower lashes. I’ll also be able to comment on the staying power and waterproofing abilities of COVERGIRL’s LashBlast VOLUME mascara.

Do you have any deep questions for me about the mascara? I’ll answer them in my updated review!

 

One thought on “A BzzAgent Review: COVERGIRL LashBlast Mascara

  1. Pingback: BzzAgent Review 2: COVERGIRL LashBlast

Start a Conversation

