TV is My Religion

I grew up with pretty limited television privileges. I remember watching Underdog, Rocky & Bullwinkle, the nightly news with Tom Brokaw (dreaaaaaamy). Oftentimes, after the news on Sunday night, I also got to watch 60 Minutes (oh, how I adored Andy Rooney‘s grouchy old man style). My sister and I watched a lot of Disney movies (we owned essentially all of them thanks to Grandmother), but there was very little unsupervised and unscheduled TV time.

As a grown woman, I probably should be embarrassed by the amount of TV I “watch,” but ultimately, I’m not. Many people have music on all day behind their work to entertain themselves; I use television that way.

Five Shows I Watch As Background Noise

  1. Hell’s Kitchen
  2. Chopped
  3. Worst Cooks in America
  4. RuPaul’s Drag Race
  5. Project Runway

Do you see a theme?

chefCooking shows on in the background of my day has helped me learn to experiment in the kitchen. I hear about flavor combinations, interesting spices, and new cooking techniques while Hell’s Kitchen, Chopped, or Worst Cooks in America are on. I have a huge crush on Gordon Ramsay (he could call me a “cow” any day), Chopped teaches me to be resourceful with what I have in the kitchen, and Worst Cooks in America has shown me that I am not the worst cook in America; I’m pretty damned good. I also love Chef Anne Burrell so much, I follow her on Instagram.

RuPaul’s Drag Race is one of my favorite television shows ever. RuPaul makes me laugh, and he’s so loving and supportive of his queens. He encourages these queens to truly love who they are, and to embrace their personalities. He pushes them to be better than they were when they started, and many of them have great success after their time with Ru. I would totally be BFFs with RuPaul.timgunn

Project Runway, Heidi Klum, and make-it-work Tim Gunn always make me happy. Always. I love to watch the designing process from blank canvas to model’s wearing creations. The challenges are intense (design a formal gown with hardware store materials), the drama is intense, and the stress is intense. For such a fun show, there is a lot of strange intensity in it. I love to watch Tim Gunn encourage the designers, Isaac Mizrahi lambaste bad designs, and Heidi Klum kiss cheeks before her “auf Wiedersehen.”

Thing is, I don’t actually watch these shows. They play on my iPad to the left of my computer while I work. These shows are my background noise. I use Hulu, Amazon Prime, and Netflix to keep my ears busy while my words flow. The noise doesn’t actually distract me, and it keeps my brain from over-thinking while I’m doing projects. If I tracked the amount of television I “watched,” it would probably be in the 4-6 hours a day range. I should be embarrassed, but I am not. TV is my religion.

Start a Conversation

