When you reward yourself with Burger King coffee

It doesn’t take much to soothe my wounds. Seriously, I can tide over near-tears frustration with a few tater tots and a cup of Burger King coffee.

After being told my insurance card showed an inactive status at a doctor’s appointment I’ve literally waited a month for, I didn’t cry. I didn’t cry!

I didn’t cry!

Last week I tried to see a new doctor in order to get this health business sorted out … and it was a fail. If I had done this appointment three months ago, I would have been a dissolved blubbering mess in the clinic, and I would have been even more embarrassed because I made a scene as a grown woman. The cycles of panic, anxiety, and depression are so so tight and nasty.

I’ve since discovered that I do have health insurance, but it’s through a different carrier, which means I have to make some important phone calls early next week to see another new doctor.

The day this happened, I didn’t give up after my appointment; I did the rest of my errands and I kicked the day’s behind. These little successes are only little to everyone else.

For me, any success is success.

One thought on “When you reward yourself with Burger King coffee

Start a Conversation

