Things to make you go WHOA!

I collect things that make me go “whoa!” on Pinterest. I have an entire board of whoa‘s.

melting ceramics

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 9.28.22 AM

… so neat … makes me curious about how this is accomplished … wondering if it’s been done with epoxy or whether it’s ceramics that have been painted … yeah, fascinating like WHOA!

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 9.29.53 AM

pelagic octopus

this jellyfish is called a Pelagic Octopus (or the football octopus … or technically the Ocythoe tuberculata) and though it’s found in warm and temperate seas (like the North Pacific off California) I’ve never seen one. I want to see one. I wonder if the Monterey Bay Aquarium has any. I totally think these are super cool like WHOA!

“The Fountain”

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 9.30.17 AM

A few years back, Coop introduced me to “The Fountain,” a movie made in 2006. This movie moved me beyond words. The IMDB page doesn’t offer the best descriptor of the movie with these words: “As a modern-day scientist, Tommy is struggling with mortality, desperately searching for the medical breakthrough that will save the life of his cancer-stricken wife, Izzi.” The movie is so much more than a scientist searching to save a life.When a movie includes this line:

“Every shadow, no matter how deep, is threatened by morning light,”

it has to be deeper than a scientist’s movie. There is adventure, romance, time travel, history, and science in “The Fountain.” It also includes Hugh Jackman and Rachel Weisz, so it’s not a bad looking movie. I love this movie like WHOA.


What makes you say “WHOA!”?

Start a Conversation

