A BzzAgent Review: Gillette® Venus® Silk by Braun

Venus.jpg

I received a free Gillette® Venus® Silk Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) hair removal system, powered by Braun from BzzAgent in exchange for an honest review of the product. The thoughts and opinions shared are mine.

I was excited to try the Gillette® Venus® Silk Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) hair removal system, and was quite surprised when a huge box showed up at my house.

Again, with the BOXES, brands.

boxcollage.jpg

This Gillette® IPL came in a mess of boxes. I snapped photographs of all the cardboard, plastic, and wires. SO MUCH to recycle.

I understand the fact that the $400 product is fragile and could break when shipping, but there was so much cardboard involved in getting the IPL from the box. (Yes, you read that right, this IPL system will run you about $400 if you buy it retail.)

I am easily irritated by packaging, and as a first impression, there was too much packaging for this product.

I read the entire packet of information before I even plugged in the IPL system. I was slightly intimidated by the idea that it might hurt, so once I took it out and set it aside, it took me a couple of weeks to brave its use.

The Gillette® Venus® Silk Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) hair removal system arrives with the a hair removal device (the wand), a brand new Gillette® Venus® razor handle and blade, and a power supply. The device is not battery operated, and must be used while plugged in. Thankfully the power supply cord is long enough to do your procedures privately and safely.

You are required to have hair-free surfaces before you apply the light to your skin, so I used the new razor handle and blade to smooth my stems first. (One of the biggest pluses for me in this box was the new Gillette® Venus® handle; previously I had owned the same handle for at least a half-dozen years.)

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 11.54.32 AM.pngI finally braved the light system.

It didn’t hurt! That’s what I was honestly most worried about. (As a kid I tried an Epilady and I thought I was going to die from the pain!) You do feel a little poke/prick when the light flashes on your skin, but it was less than even an acupuncture needle; completely tolerable.

I used the Braun Silk-expert IPL system two weeks ago and have not noticed a decrease in my hair growth, but do plan to use the device three or four more times in the upcoming three or four weeks.

According to the Gillette® Venus® Silk Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) hair removal system website:

“Braun Silk-expert is an IPL system which results in permanent visible hair removal in as little as four treatments. It works beneath the skin’s surface by targeting the melanin in the hair follicle, helping to break the cycle of hair re-growth. With continued, regular use, it helps prevent unwanted hair from reaching the skin surface.”

I wish that the results were immediate when IPL us used, but unfortunately, it takes some time to see actual results. The “continued, regular use” is hard to review early on in the process. Since it doesn’t actually hurt, and you can treat an entire leg in eight minutes, this system may save a woman time if the light is strong enough for your stem hair.

PROS of the Gillette® Venus® Silk Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) hair removal system:

  • comes with a new razor handle
  • comes with a new razor blade
  • long power supply cord for ease of use
  • doesn’t hurt
  • flashes pretty

CONS:

  • takes weeks for results to show
  • $400 is expensive for leg hair removal (though when you compare it to regular waxing costs, it probably does save money)
  • too much packaging

Give me a couple more weeks and I’ll be able to give an even more thorough review about how my legs are looking!

Start a Conversation

